Valletta Film Festival will be held for the fifth time between Friday 14th and Sunday 23rd June 2019.

For ten days, Europe’s smallest capital city will once again transform into a cinema with screenings and events happening at different squares and other historic buildings.

Valletta Film Festival is Malta’s largest cinematic event attracting around 10,000 visitors each year. The festival exhibits over forty feature films and twenty four short films and organises a number of master classes and workshops.

Apart from an official competition for feature films, documentaries and short the festival curates other sections including Islanders that showcases films from or about islands, Without Borders that focuses on the cinema of a specific region or continent, Teens Only – a selection of coming-of-age films and Masters of Cinema, a retrospective of on established directors and other talent.

In November 2018, Film Grain Foundation will be announcing changes to the programme of the festival.